Skip to main content

Digital Resources

for U-High Students & Faculty

GENERAL DATABASES

Databases available through Milner Library, ISU

To access from home, click on THIS link and then use your ULID and password to access after locating the desired database.

Academic Search Complete – Contains articles from academic publications on a variety of topics (To access, click on the link, and then search for "Academic Search Complete" by name)

CQ Researcher – Congressional Quarterly on current and controversial issues

CQ Weekly – Definitive collection on American history, government, politics, public policy and current affairs

Gale Virtual Reference Library – Includes the full text of books, encyclopedias and handbooks. Available books cover all subject areas, including art, business, history and medicine.

JStor – Contains articles from academic publications on a variety of topics

Lexis Nexis – Contains news articles on national and international news issues

MAS Ultra, Student Edition – Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for popular, high school magazines, full text reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 453,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text back to 1975 for key magazines. (To access, click on the link, then search for "MAS Ultra, Student Edition" by name) 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context – Current issues and controversies are examined from all sides. Includes articles, video, and audio.

Oxford Reference – A fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of over 100 dictionaries and reference works in all subject areas published by Oxford University Press. Also includes titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series. Provides full text.

Project Muse – Contains articles from academic publications on a variety of topics including the humanities, arts and sciences

Statistical Insight – Find statistics, tables, etc. on a variety of topics

ART

Databases available through Milner Library, ISU

To access from home, click on THIS link and then use your ULID and password to access after locating the desired database.

Art and Architecture Complete (1875 to present) - A research database for the study of art and architecture.

Art & Culture Digital Collection (prehistoric to the present) - A locally produced database of images for use in the study and teaching of art, design, and material culture at Illinois State University. Includes views of sculpture, architecture, painting, and decorative art objects from European, American, Middle Eastern, Asian, African and Oceanic cultures dating from prehistoric times to the present. The images come from many sources, including published images, original images purchased or donated, and unique images selected and scanned from the slide library at the School of Art.

Artstor - Provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. The community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.

Oxford Art Online - Provides access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms; ongoing additions of new and updated articles, 5,000 searchable images displayed in the text of articles, and image links. Note: the current subscription allows 8 users at a time to access the database.

More...

BUSINESS

Databases available through Milner Library, ISU

To access from home, click on THIS link and then use your ULID and password to access after locating the desired database.

ABI/INFORM Global (1971 to present) - Search nearly 3,000 worldwide business periodicals and journals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, strategy, and theory. Extensive coverage of topics such as advertising, business intelligence, marketing, finance, human resources, insurance, organizational development, taxation, technology, and more. Fast access to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles. Has same day access to The Wall Street Journal.

Business Source Complete (Business Searching Interface) (1886 to present) - Created especially for the business searcher. BSI provides an easy way to both browse and search for country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research. The Business Searching Interface was designed to take full advantage of all of the diverse content available in the Business Source Premier database. It provides full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles.

Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage - Comprehensive source of business and investment information, offering on-line access to popular S&P research products such as Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, The Outlook, Mutual Fund Reports among others. Provides ability to access COMPUSTAT analytics and generate reports that include financials and ratios for individual companies, or comparative financials & ratios for top companies in an industry group.

More...

ENGINEERING & TECHNOLOGY

Databases available through Milner Library, ISU

To access from home, click on THIS link and then use your ULID and password to access after locating the desired database.

Agricola (1970 to the present) - Coverage dates back to 1970 and includes more than 4.6 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.

Computers & Applied Sciences Complete - Covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. It contains collected knowledge on traditional engineering challenges & research, and is a resource for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology. CASC provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,900 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources. Full text is also available for more than 840 periodicals.

More...

ENGLISH

American Literature

A.P. Language

A.P. Literature

College Composition

Contemporary Rhetoric

Debate

Film

Journalism

Oral Communications

Science Fiction/Fantasy

Shakespeare

Sophomore Writing

World Literature

Foreign Language

Databases available through Milner Library, ISU

To access from home, click on THIS link and then use your ULID and password to access after locating the desired database.

Latino Literature  - Latino Literature brings together more than 100,000 pages of poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States. Among the gems of the collection are nearly 800 items (poems, novels, and plays) that have never been published before. Researchers will also find numerous Chicano folk tales and audio files of selected poems and plays.

MLA International Bibliography (1963 to present) - Literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide. Updates ten times per year. Provides citations, abstracts.

FRESHMAN PROGRAM

Databases available through Milner Library, ISU

To access from home, click on THIS link and then use your ULID and password to access after locating the desired database.

Black Thought and Culture - Provides approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present. Some of the authors include Frederick Douglass, W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Mary McLeod Bethune, Booker T. Washington.

Chicago Defender (1910-1975) - The Chicago Defender, a historical African-American newspaper, provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Browse and search complete issues of newspaper, as well as obituaries. Includes the Chicago Daily Defender, the Daily Defender and weekend editions of the newspapers. Includes full text.

North American Indian Thought and Culture - The database presents the life stories of American Indians and Canadian First Peoples in their own words and through the words of others. Soon to the be largest compilation ever created of biographical information on indigenous peoples from all areas of North America, it contains nearly 100,000 pages of content, including biographies, autobiographies, oral histories, reference works, manuscripts, and photographs. This database tells the life stories of well-known figures such as Sitting Bull but also lesser known individuals whose experiences further enhance the portrayal of Indian culture.

Contemporary Women's Issues (1995 to present) - Includes information from journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies. Updated every two weeks. Includes citations, abstracts, and full text.

Women and Social Movements in the US (Scholar's Edition) - Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, the website seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools.

MATH

Databases available through Milner Library, ISU

To access from home, click on THIS link and then use your ULID and password to access after locating the desired database.

Computers & Applied Sciences Complete - Covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. It contains collected knowledge on traditional engineering challenges & research, and is a resource for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology. CASC provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,900 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources. Full text is also available for more than 840 periodicals.

MathSciNet (1940 to present) - Provides access to over 55 years of of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. Provides citations.

PERFORMING ARTS

Databases available through Milner Library, ISU

To access from home, click on THIS link and then use your ULID and password to access after locating the desired database.

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance (1984 to present) - Started by the American Society for Theatre Research, this database aids the study of theatre and the performing arts. Full text is available for more than 140 journals, and more than 300 books.

Project Muse Premium Collection - Provides full text access to journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences from 60 scholarly publishers. Coverage and update periods vary. Provides citation, abstracts, and full text. Project Muse is a not-for-profit collaboration between the participating publishers and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at Johns Hopkins University.

Oxford Music Online - Coverage on all aspects of music. Includes the following titles: Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online and Oxford Companion to Music. (Milner's subscription allows eight (8) people to use this site at any time. If all connections are being used, you will see a message stating that all licenses are currently active. Try again later.)

Naxos Music Library - Provides online access to the Naxos, Marco Polo and Dacapo catalogues of over 85,000 tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music recordings. Works may be selected by composer, artist, period, year of composition, instrument or genre. Playlists can be created. Also available is information about the works, artists, and composers. Updated continually. (NOTE: Adobe Flash is the default player for Naxos Music Library. Please make sure you have Adobe Flash Player version 9 for MAC or version 10 for PC.)

Classical Music in Video - The collection includes performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances as well as chamber music, oratoria and solo performances. Includes masterclasses and interviews of master teachers from around the world. Musical time periods included in the collection range from medieval to the present. Performances from the 1950s to the present are included. This growing collection currently includes 732 works, of 411 hours.

Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM) - A not-for-profit resource providing educational communities with on-demand streaming access to CD-quality audio (192kbps Mp4), complete original liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives. DRAM's collection contains nearly 2,300 albums worth of recordings from a distinctive set of 15 independent labels, and more content is continually being added. (QuickTime 6.5.2 or later is the preferred player for DRAM streaming media.)

Jazz Music Library - This resource is the largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online -- with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres. Currently includes nearly 5000 jazz albums.

Contemporary Musicians (1989 to present) - Covering all genres of modern music, Contemporary Musicians profiles artists involved in rock, jazz, pop, rap, rhythm and blues, folk, New Age, country, gospel and reggae.

Orchestral Music Online - Based on the fourth edition of the printed reference work, Orchestral Music: A Handbook (2005, Scarecrow Press), Orchestral Music Online provides information about more than 6,700 orchestral works by over 900 composers. Individual works in the database are linked to music publishers and other sources.

Music-In-Print - Covers musical scores currently in print for vocal, piano, orchestral, classical guitar, string, woodwind, and other categories. Provides citations, abstracts.

More...

SCIENCE

Databases available through Milner Library, ISU

To access from home, click on THIS link and then use your ULID and password to access after locating the desired database.

Annual Reviews - Provides researchers, professors, and scientific professionals with a definitive academic resource in 37 scientific disciplines. Annual Reviews saves you time by synthesizing the vast amount of primary research literature and identifying the principal contributions in your field. Updated annually.

BIOSIS Citation Index (1972 to present) - Covers all major areas in the life sciences, including molecular and cellular biology, pharmacology, infectious diseases, ecology and more. The database indexes over 5300 journals as well as documents from meetings and conferences as well as patents. Includes cited reference searching.

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (1984 to present) - Indexes over 4000 scientific journals and thousands of other sources including conference proceedings, monographs, and government publications. Topics include: ecology; ergonomics; noise; occupational safety and health; pollution; risk assessment; toxicology; waste management; wastewater treatment; water resources; and others. Provides citations, abstracts.

SciFinder Scholar (1907 to present) - A research discovery tool that allows you to explore the Chemical Abstracts databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more! In addition to articles, SciFinder includes information on patents, chemical substances, chemical synthesis and more. ( SciFinder requires end users to have a personal account for searching.)

Zoological Record (1993 to present) - Comprehensive index to zoological literature. Records cover every aspect of zoology, including biochemistry, behavior, ecology evolution, genetics, etc. Over 4,500 international periodicals plus approximately 1,500 non-serial publications are covered, including professional journals, magazines, newsletters, monographs, books, dissertations, and conference proceedings. Subject coverage ranges from biodiversity and the environment to taxonomy and veterinary sciences. Provides citations.

More...

SOCIAL SCIENCE & HISTORY

A.P. Government

A.P. U.S. History

Government

Multimedia History

Philosophy

Psychology

Sociology

U.S. Studies

World Studies

WELLNESS & PE

Databases available through Milner Library, ISU

To access from home, click on THIS link and then use your ULID and password to access after locating the desired database.

SPORTDiscus (1949 to present) - Covers both serial and monographic literature in the following areas of sport: recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, the psychology, history and sociology of sport, training, and conditioning. Seventy percent of the database consists of periodical articles. Updated monthly. Provides citations.