Skip to main content

Digital Resources

for U-High Students & Faculty

NORMAL PUBLIC LIBRARY

The resources below are accessible to Normal Public Library cardholders. Click to access the U-High Library's Normal Public Library ID number and passcode. If you have your own NPL library card, you may use it to access the databases below.

BUSINESS

Consumer Reports

Offers consumer news, reports on different products, recalls and safety information, and much more.

Morningstar

An interactive investment database with information on over 27,000 stocks, mutual funds, and ETFs. Provides independent analysis, charts, portfolio building tools, and investment education.

Standard & Poor’s NetAdvantage

Standard & Poor’s is the world’s foremost provider of independent credit ratings, indices, risk evaluation, investment research, data, and valuations. Access industry surveys, stock reports, mutual fund reports, bond reports, corporation records, and more.

Value Line

Access information and advice on the stock market, the economy, and approximately 1,700 stocks in 98 industries.

 

ENGINEERING & TECHNOLOGY

Lynda.com

lynda.com is a leading online learning company that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Through individual, corporate, academic and government subscriptions, members have access to the lynda.com video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognized industry experts.
 

ENGLISH

Bloom’s Literary Reference Online

This resource contains more than 20,000 critical essays from over 500 literary journals and 2,300 scholarly and critical books, including 700 titles published by Bloom’s Literary Criticism and Facts On File. Also included in the database are more than 13,000 biographies, 45,000 character entries, 5,000 synopses of literary works and hundreds of images and videos.

 

FOREIGN LANGUAGE

AudioBookCloud

Listen to your favorite audio books in many different categories, including fiction, non-fiction, childrens, classics, and even Spanish language.  Books are always available and never on hold.

Mango Languages

An online language-learning system that can help you learn languages like Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian, and more.

Mango Premiere

Learn languages while watching foreign feature films.  You can watch the films in Engage Mode to maximize your language learning, or in Movie Mode to just sit back and enjoy.

 

SOCIAL SCIENCE & HISTORY

The Chicago Tribune (via ProQuest Newsstand)

Read today’s news or search the Chicago Tribune’s archives from 1985 to today.  Includes news, obituaries, sports, headlines, and more.

ProQuest Newsstand

ProQuest Newsstand is an online gateway to over 850 newspapers, including 575 full-text titles, and many with backfiles dating back to the 1980s and 1990s.

BLOOMINGTON PUBLIC LIBRARY

The resources below are accessible to Bloomington Public Library card holders ONLY. You will need your BPL card number and passcode to access.

ART

CAMIO®

OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online — is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums. CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.

ENGINEERING & TECHNOLOGY

Auto Repair Reference Center

Information about most makes and models of cars and trucks in over 33 maintenance and care categories, plus glossary of automotive terms.

SOCIAL SCIENCE & HISTORY

African-American History Online

African-American History Online is a comprehensive reference database, covering more than 500 years of African-American history—from the slave trade to the Civil Rights movement to the present day. Thousands of extensively hyperlinked and informative entries include topical entries, biographies, primary source documents, images, timelines, and maps and charts.

America's Newspapers from NewsBank

Provides electronic editions of record for local, regional, and national U. S. newspapers from the 1980s-present.

American History Online

American History Online has combined with American Women’s History Online to provide a comprehensive reference database on important individuals, events, experiences, and topics in U.S. history. The thousands of entries—topical, biographies, maps, timelines, primary source documents, and images—are hyperlinked and show related entries. Overview essays also provide detail on each time period.

American Indian History Online

American Indian History Online is an authoritative reference database that provides in-depth coverage of more than 5,000 years of culture, legends, and leaders. More than 500 Native American groups are covered in hyperlinked entries, including topical entries, primary source documents, biographies, maps, images, and timelines. The content is also searchable by tribe and culture area.

Ancient and Medieval History Online

Focusing on Egypt, Mesopotamia, Greece, Rome, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and Asia, Ancient and Medieval History Online gives a balanced, global view of the world in ancient and medieval times. Thousands of entries on events, people, and primary source documents are hyperlinked and allow users a comprehensive and comparative view of the pre-modern world.

Modern World History Online

Modern World History Online covers the important people and events of world history from the age of exploration in the mid-15th century through the modern era. Topical entries, biographies, maps, primary source documents, and timeline entries provide a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, and events that have defined world history