Skip to main content

Digital Resources

for U-High Students & Faculty

Primary Sources: Social Science & History

PRIMARY SOURCES: IMAGES

Library of Congress' American Memory project includes 65 collections containing photographs

Life magazine photo archive hosted by Google with Browsing Capability

New York Public Library's NYPL Digital Gallery has access to over 600,000 images

PRIMARY SOURCES: DOCUMENTS

Avalon Project from Yale University - click on century of interest

Chicago Historical Society -- for primary sources on local events -- Look at other state or local historical societies for more information

Digital History from the University of Houston: Scroll down to find the time period for your project or on the LEFT click on primary sources (especially Landmark documents); see  additional modules on American history

Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History -- Investigate by era OR search the collection 

History Matters from George Mason University has links to primary documents and photographs related to US history.

Internet Modern History Sourcebook from Fordham University -- choose a time period relevant to your topic

Library of Congress: search American Memory by Timeline or by Topic and other Library of Congress' recommended links to Primary Source Collections; plus links to Historical Newspapers

National Archives and Records Administration for links to 100 milestone documents in American history.

 National History Day (sponsored by University of Maryland and others) list of online primary sources

Presidential Speeches (last updated 2007)- by sliding the bar, go to the time period of interest; this tag cloud shows by word size and brightness intensity key issues of the day.

State Historical Societies may also have images and suggested links

United States Historical Documents - a Chronology from University of Oklahoma

PRIMARY SOURCES: STATISTICS

Historical Census Statistics - interactive site for calculations hosted at the University of Virginia.

Additional Resources

 

 
Primary Source Analysis Tool...
 
     Rewordify....................................
Primary Sources
-Look for your topic-
click on the small question marks
 
     paste the Primary Document text 
 
 


for 
information

here to make it easier to read
Ad Access (Advertising through the decades)
 
Famous Documents and Speeches National Archives and Records Administration
America’s Historical Documents Fireside Chats of Franklin D. Roosevelt North American Slave Narratives, Beginnings to 1920
 
Avalon ProjectDocuments in Law, History and Diplomacy

Congressional Moments

 
Historical photographs dating from 1840 to today, Graphic Design from the 1920s and 1930s
 
Nuremberg trial transcripts and materials
Constitution of the United States Holocaust Photographs Posters of World War IIscroll to WWII and click on image for more information
 
Costume History at The Costumer’s Manifesto
 
Influenza Epidemic of 1918 Reformation Texts
 
Declaration of Independence

Digital Vaults

 
Information about primary sources Repositories of Primary Sources – International
 
Documenting the American South International Archival Resources on the Internet
 
San Francisco Earthquake of 1906
 
Documents For The Study Of American History International Historical Text Archive
 
Using Primary Sources
Documents from the New Deal Era Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music:American music spanning the period 1780 to 1960
 
Wars for Viet Nam
Dr. Seuss Goes to War Lists of digital primary sources and real world data Web based sourcesclick on the Eagleimage for a specific time period
 
EuroDocsPrimary Documents From Western Europe Making of AmericaAmerican social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction
 
What Are Primary Sources?
Excerpts from Slave Narratives Edited by Steven Mintz
 
Medieval and Anglo Saxon Recipes World War II Resources: Original documents regarding all aspects of the war
Eyewitness Accounts of American History(Table of Contents) Medieval European Recipes World War II Photographs