College Board is a mission-driven not-for-profit organization that connects students to college success and opportunity.
Students can create an account to access to College Board programs: SAT, AP, PSAT/NMSQT, CLEP, BigFuture™, and more. And AP students, can use a College Board account’s username and password to access AP Classroom.
Sample MLA citation:
("Title of webpage." Title of Website. Publisher, Date published or Last update. Type of source or URL. Date accessed.)
* The Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. Revised every two years, theHandbook describes what workers do on the job, working conditions; the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations. The OOH is administered by the Bureau of Labor and Statistics.
Sample MLA citation:
“Librarians.” Occupational Outlook Handbook. Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor. 13 April 2018. https://www.bls.gov/ooh/education-training-and-library/librarians.htm. 29 June 2018.
Career One Stop
Career One Stop is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor. It includes sources of employment information and tools to help job seekers, students, businesses and career professionals.
U.S. BUREAU OF ECONOMIC ANALYSIS
U.S. BUREAU OF LABOR & STATISTICS
U.S. DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
Sample MLA citation:
CareerOneStop, U.S. Department of Labor Employment and Training Administration, www.CareerOneStop.org. Accessed 1 January 2019.
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance, 16th Edition, 5-Volume Set by Sample MLA citation:
Chambers, James, editor. Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance, 16th Edition, 5-Volume Set. Ferguson, 2014, Infobase eBooks, ebooks.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=114586&ISBN=9781438141589, Accessed 21 Apr. 2021.
* O*NET Online
The nation’s primary source of occupational information, the O*NET database and related products will help millions of employers, workers, educators, and students make informed decisions about education, training, career choices, and work. The O*NET Project is administered and sponsored by the US Department of Labor’s Employment and Training Administration.
Berklee Careers in Music
Descriptions of differing careers in music from Berklee College of Music
Career Builder
Giant database of career and job opportunities
Career Resource
Major Resource Kits link academic majors to career alternatives by providing information on career paths, sample job titles, and a short bibliography of Career Resource Center materials available to students in a particular major.
College Board Career Browser
Browse specific jobs and learn about working conditions, job forecasts, related professions, and what you can be doing right now to reach your goals.
InLikeMe
InLikeMe is a FREE Resource Hub designed to bring together the disparate aspects of the college planning, application and student aid processes in one practical, easy-to-use site.
MyFuture.com
Myfuture.com helps young adults plan their next steps in life by bringing together the most recently available information about colleges, careers and military service opportunities from the U.S. Departments of Commerce, Defense, Education and Labor.
MyMajors.com
Have you decided that you want to go to college but don’t know what you want to major in? if you aren’t sure, MyMajors.com can provide useful advice on college and university majors that a high school senior or college freshman with your interests and achievements might do well in.
NextStepU.com
NextStepU.com is a personalized resource for students, parents and counselors to find information about pursuing a career, joining the military, applying to and attending a two-year or four-year college or university, locating scholarships and developing essential life skills.
Princeton Review’s Career Page
Discover, research and plan for career success.
Career Exploration - Job and Career Planning
This guide from ISU's Milner Library will help you explore different careers, recommend resumes & cover letter guides, give strategies for investigating different companies and industries.
Career Ship
CareerShip® is a free online career exploration adventure for middle and high school students. CareerShip is a product of Mapping Your Future, a public-service web site providing free career, college, financial aid, and money management information and services.
Education Planner
EducationPlanner is your one-stop career and college planning website that provides practical and easy-to-understand advice to help prepare students for the important decisions they will face in the future.
MappingYourFuture.org
Mapping Your Future is a nonprofit organization committed to helping students, families, and schools navigate the higher education and student loan processes through trusted career, college, and financial aid counseling and resources.
