Skip to main content

Oral Comm: Databases: Home

Accessing Milner Databases Off Campus

To access from home, click on THIS link and then use your ULID and password to access after locating the desired database.

Milner Databases: Oral Comm

 

 

 

 

Children's Literature Review (CLR)
Children's Literature Review provides information and criticism of the most popular and influential authors of the genre, as well as aggregated book reviews of their works. Find information on authors ranging from Louisa May Alcott to Laura Ingalls Wilder to Jack Gantos. Part of Literature Criticism Online.

*Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
Descriptions and reviews of children's literature. Provides citations, abstracts. Updated monthly.

Contemporary Authors
Contemporary Authors offers continuous access to current biographical and bibliographical data on more than 120,000 authors from the nineteenth century to the present. Easily search for an author by name, title of work, subject/genre, nationality, date and place of birth, honors, awards and much more.

*NoveList Plus
A readers' advisory tool that helps readers find new books based on books they've read or topics in which they are interested. Book reviews are provided by the American Library Association's reviewing journal Booklist. ncludes both fiction and non-fiction for many children and young adult books. Also includes reading level indicators (Lexiles) for readability.

Something about the Author (SATA) vol. 1, 1971 to present
Something about the Author examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is a preeminent source on authors and literature for young people. Something About the Author Online includes more than 217 volumes, 12,000 entries, and nearly 17,000 images.

Academic Search Complete 1887 to present
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database containing full text for more than 7,100 publications, including over 6,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 11,200 journals and other publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

Normal Public Library Databases

Bloom’s Literary Reference Online

This resource contains more than 20,000 critical essays from over 500 literary journals and 2,300 scholarly and critical books, including 700 titles published by Bloom’s Literary Criticism and Facts On File. Also included in the database are more than 13,000 biographies, 45,000 character entries, 5,000 synopses of literary works and hundreds of images and videos.

Have a Question? Need Help?

Gretchen Zaitzeff's picture
Gretchen Zaitzeff
Contact:
500 W Gregory St.
Normal, IL 61790
309.438.2054

Accessing NPL's Databases

The resources below are accessible to Normal Public Library cardholders. Click to access the U-High Library's Normal Public Library ID number and passcode. If you have your own NPL library card, you may use it to access the databases below.