LibGuides: Resources in Spanish: Internet Resources

Using Google to Find Spanish-language Websites

One of the best methods for finding Spanish-Language websites through a Google search is to use Spanish words and phrases as your search terms. If you need English-language translations for the websites, on the results page, click on "Would you like to translate this page?" dialog box at the top of the page.

This will show you the English-language translation, but you can always click on "Show original to see the results in Spanish. See image below.

Free Internet Websites

Freely available websites with academic Spanish-language content are listed below. If you are a new Spanish learner, it may be helpful to use Google Chrome as your browser as it will ask you if you want to translate pages into English.

Biblioteca Digital Hispánica
The Hispanic Digital Library is a resource from the National Library of Spain. This catalog provides free access to thousands of digitized documents that cover the sciences, philosophy, fine art, and much more. Spanish is the default language for this website, but users can select from many translations, including English.
Hemeroteca Digital
The Digital Newspaper Library is part of the Hispanic Digital Library project. It provides access to historical Spanish newspapers and magazines that are in the National Library of Spain. It currently has over 1,000 titles. This site also provides an English translation if needed.
Dialnet
Dialnet is the largest online archive of Hispanic scientific papers. It currently has over 8,000 magazines and 3,700,000 documents. Users have the option to search or browse publications. Users can also select multiple languages, including English, for translations.
Google Academico
Google Scholar, Google's academic search tool, is now available in Spanish through Google Academico. It has the same look and feel as Google Scholar, but with the Spanish-language content. Results are best when you use Spanish-language search terms.
Si, Spain
This site provides information on Spanish current affairs and cultural development and lists links to websites that also cover these topics.
Spanish Government Portal
Use this portal to find information on Spanish Government services and facts and figures.
Mexican Government Portal
This portal allows users to search for information on Mexican government services and information resources.
Biblioteca Virtual Miguel De Cervantes
This is a freely accessible portal to the Spanish-language classics. Full-texts of works and criticisms are organized by subject areas, including, Spanish literature, history, children's literature, sign language, Hispanic culture in America, and more. This site is also searchable.
Parallel Histories: Spain, the United States, and the American Frontier
This online resource is a work from the Library of Congress in collaboration with the National Library of Spain, the Library of Colombia, and the capital of Seville. It presents digital books, maps, photographs and other documents that give information on the history of the United States' relationship with Spain with a focus on exploration, settlement, colonization, cultures, American revolution, and mutual perceptions.
LANIC (Latin American Network Information Center)
This web resource is produced by the University of Texas at Austin. It provides links to websites that cover the economy, education, sciences, social sciences, government and much more in Latin America.

Using Country Domains

Another option for finding Spanish-Language websites is to limit your search to a domain from a Spanish-speaking country. For instance, the domain for Mexico is .mx. If you type site:.mx into your Google search box and then type in your search terms, you will only retrieve websites from Mexico. See image below. To find additional country domains, click here.