Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use Creative Commons Licensed Pictures
"Compositing the Creative Commons." qthomasbower. 2008. flickr. Used under Creative Commons License.
Clip Art & Image Generators
Handy Creative Commons Attribution Tool
Used with permission from Kristen Jacobson
Glenbrook District 225
Places to Find Copyright-Friendly and Photos & Images
Creative Commons Image Search
Very handy tool for searching multiple image databases quickly.
Google Advanced Image Search
In the drop-down menu for Usage Rights, choose "free to use or share."
Flickr Creative Commons
"Many Flickr users have chosen to offer their work under a Creative Commons license, and you can browse or search through content under each type of license."
Flickr: The Commons
"The key goal of The Commons is to share hidden treasures from the world's public photography archives." Wonderful resource for historical images.
U.S. Government Photos and Images
"Find government photos and images by topic."
Choose "Search creative commons photos."
Moving Image Archive
Online free streaming video. Read "Conditions of Use".
Library Of Congress--Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
Contains about 75% of the Print and Photography collections at the Library of Congress.
Most of the collection can be used under fair use guidelines. However, as the LOC does not hold copyright on most of the collections, check this link for more information.
NOAA Photo Library (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration)
"The NOAA collection includes thousands of weather and space images, hundreds of images of our shores and coastal seas, and thousands of marine species images ranging from the great whales to the most minute plankton. "
For information on how to credit the NOAA and the photographers appropriately click here.
Galaxy of Images (Smithsonian Institution Libraries)
Thousands of images from the Smithsonian Libraries' collections. Free for educational use. For details, click here.
British Library Online Gallery
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Please read terms and conditions/copyright info at this link.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
"NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections.
Some of the images in the Digital Gallery may be subject to third party rights such as copyright and/or rights of privacy/publicity. Before using any of these images please review the Library's Terms and Conditions.
Yale Digital Commons
"Search 1,500,000 digital assets from across Yale's collections."
"A database of 6,186,126 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute."
Wikipedia Public Domain Image Resources
Organized by subject; scroll down the page to see categories.
Ad*Access (Duke University Libraries)
Database of over 7,000 historical U.S. and Canadian advertisements.
"For [research, teaching, and private study] purposes under Fair Use, you may reproduce (print, make photocopies, or download) materials from this web site without prior permission, on the condition that you provide proper attribution of the source in all copies. "
Digital Public Library of America
"The DPLA offers a single point of access to millions of items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more—from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. "