Skip to main content

Biology 2: Article of the Week Assignment

Independent Research Project

Assignment

During your independent research project, it is vital that you find credible resources to base your hypotheses upon and to support your final report. As a part of your report, you will be required to give a background context for your study, reference previous studies on the subject, and impress upon your readers the importance of your study. As such, you will be required to find a credible source EACH WEEK leading up to the submission of your paper’s introduction.

Each week, you are to find a minimum of one credible source for your paper. These sources can be CREDIBLE websites, book, periodicals, or journal articles. You will need to read the source, and HAND WRITE NOTES on the key aspects of the article. You must also provide an accurate APA citation and turn in a copy of the article as well.

Keep in mind that this assignment is meant to help you with your large research project. A minimum of five sources is required for your project, two of which must be primary journal articles. You will be receiving formative points for work that you SHOULD BE DOING ANYWAY! You may also use this as an opportunity to talk with me about your sources, ask questions, and get guidance on your background information for your project.

You will need to create a section for ALL of these articles in your research binder. You will turn them in with your binder for your final submission of your project.

Finding search terms

Instagrok: Research any topic with an interactive concept map, that you can customize and share

Visu-words: visual dictionary

GENERAL DATABASES

Databases available through Milner Library, ISU

To access from home, click on THIS link and then use your ULID and password to access after locating the desired database.

Academic Search Complete – Contains articles from academic publications on a variety of topics (To access, click on the link, and then search for "Academic Search Complete" by name)

CQ Researcher – Congressional Quarterly on current and controversial issues

CQ Weekly – Definitive collection on American history, government, politics, public policy and current affairs

Gale Virtual Reference Library – Includes the full text of books, encyclopedias and handbooks. Available books cover all subject areas, including art, business, history and medicine.

JStor – Contains articles from academic publications on a variety of topics

Lexis Nexis – Contains news articles on national and international news issues

MAS Ultra, Student Edition – Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for popular, high school magazines, full text reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 453,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text back to 1975 for key magazines. (To access, click on the link, then search for "MAS Ultra, Student Edition" by name) 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context – Current issues and controversies are examined from all sides. Includes articles, video, and audio.

Oxford Reference – A fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of over 100 dictionaries and reference works in all subject areas published by Oxford University Press. Also includes titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series. Provides full text.

Project Muse – Contains articles from academic publications on a variety of topics including the humanities, arts and sciences

Statistical Insight – Find statistics, tables, etc. on a variety of topics