Skip to main content

Race Research Paper: Databases

What is a Database

ISU General Databases for Freshman Research

Databases available through Milner Library, ISU

To access from home, click on THIS link and then use your ULID and password to access after locating the desired database.

Gale Virtual Reference Library – Includes the full text of books, encyclopedias and handbooks. Available books cover all subject areas, including art, business, history and medicine.

‚ÄčMAS Ultra, Student Edition – (Accessible through Milner Library Homepage, under List of Databases) Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for popular, high school magazines, full text reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 453,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text back to 1975 for key magazines.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context – Current issues and controversies are examined from all sides. Includes articles, video, and audio.

Oxford Reference – A fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of over 100 dictionaries and reference works in all subject areas published by Oxford University Press. Also includes titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series. Provides full text.

Statistical Insight – Find statistics, tables, etc. on a variety of topics

Reference

Gale Virtual Reference Library – Includes the full text of books, encyclopedias and handbooks. Available books cover all subject areas, including art, business, history and medicine.

Oxford English Dictionary
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language. A guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.

Oxford Reference – A fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of over 100 dictionaries and reference works in all subject areas published by Oxford University Press. Also includes titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series. Provides full text.

Biographical Databases

American National Biography – The American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women — from all eras and walks of life — whose lives have shaped the nation.

Current Biography Illustrated –  (Accessible through Milner Library Database homepage, search by name) Find information about the people making tomorrow’s headlines plus historical figures back to World War II. Profiles give users the information they want on celebrities, politicians, business people, writers, actors, sports figures, artists, scientists, and many others

Marquis Who's Who (1985 to present) - Features comprehensive profiles on over 1.4 million of the most accomplished individuals from all fields of endeavor including: government, business, science and technology, the arts, entertainment, and sports.

U-High Databases

Click to access the U-High Library's Database Passwords.

World Book Online – Powerful reference tool that includes an online encyclopedia, multimedia, and primary source databases, integrated in a single search

Gale Reference Databases

Science in Context -- Full-text science articles drawn from hundreds of national and global newspapers, magazines, and journals supported by images, videos, and audio selections from authoritative sources
US History in Context -- A complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people from the arrival of the Vikings through the War on Terror supported by text and multi-media

World History in Context--Provides an overview of world history that covers the most-studied events, periods, cultures, civilizations, religions, conflicts, wars, ideologies, cultural movements, and people
Power Search of Gale Reference -- Searches both Science in Context and US History in Context simultaneously. Using the Topic Finder creates a Word Wheel that connects to content in both databases.  

ISU Topic Databases for Freshman Program

Databases available through Milner Library, ISU

To access from home, click on THIS link and then use your ULID and password to access after locating the desired database.

Black Thought and Culture - Provides approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present. Some of the authors include Frederick Douglass, W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Mary McLeod Bethune, Booker T. Washington.

Chicago Defender (1910-1975) - The Chicago Defender, a historical African-American newspaper, provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Browse and search complete issues of newspaper, as well as obituaries. Includes the Chicago Daily Defender, the Daily Defender and weekend editions of the newspapers. Includes full text.

North American Indian Thought and Culture - The database presents the life stories of American Indians and Canadian First Peoples in their own words and through the words of others. Soon to the be largest compilation ever created of biographical information on indigenous peoples from all areas of North America, it contains nearly 100,000 pages of content, including biographies, autobiographies, oral histories, reference works, manuscripts, and photographs. This database tells the life stories of well-known figures such as Sitting Bull but also lesser known individuals whose experiences further enhance the portrayal of Indian culture.

Contemporary Women's Issues (1995 to present) - Includes information from journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies. Updated every two weeks. Includes citations, abstracts, and full text.

Women and Social Movements in the US (Scholar's Edition) - Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, the website seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools.