Skip to main content

Sustainable Cities Project: Resources

Resources for Environmental Science

Environmental Science Topics

Air Pollution
Alternative Energy
Biofuels
Climate Change
Ecotourism
Endangered Species
Energy Efficiency
Gaia Hypothesis
Hybrid/Electric Cars
Natural Disasters
Oil Production
Oil Spills
Recycling
Sustainability
Tsunamis
Water Shortages/Water Management
Whaling

Urbanization

Databases

Click for the U-High Library's Database Passwords.

World Book Online – Online encyclopedia

Facts On File Databases

Science Online

Gale Reference Databases

Science in Context
Power Search of Gale Reference

Databases available through Milner Library, ISU: To access from home, click on THIS link and then use your ULID and password to access after locating the desired database.

Annual Reviews - Provides researchers, professors, and scientific professionals with a definitive academic resource in 37 scientific disciplines. Annual Reviews saves you time by synthesizing the vast amount of primary research literature and identifying the principal contributions in your field. Updated annually.

Academic Search Complete – Contains articles from academic publications on a variety of topics

Gale Virtual Reference Library – Includes the full text of books, encyclopedias and handbooks. Available books cover all subject areas, including art, business, history and medicine.

GreenFILE - Focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.

JStor – Contains articles from academic publications on a variety of topics

Lexis Nexis – Contains news articles on national and international news issues

MAS Ultra, Student Edition – Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for popular, high school magazines, full text reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 453,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text back to 1975 for key magazines.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context – Current issues and controversies are examined from all sides. Includes articles, video, and audio.

Project Muse – Contains articles from academic publications on a variety of topics including the humanities, arts and sciences

Statistical Insight – Find statistics, tables, etc. on a variety of topics

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (1984 to present) - Indexes over 4000 scientific journals and thousands of other sources including conference proceedings, monographs, and government publications. Topics include: ecology; ergonomics; noise; occupational safety and health; pollution; risk assessment; toxicology; waste management; wastewater treatment; water resources; and others. Provides citations, abstracts.

Library Media Specialist

Amy Brokaw's picture
Amy Brokaw
Contact:
601 Gregory St.
Normal, IL 61761
309-438-2054
Website