LibGuides: Epidemiology Capstone Project: Home

Capstone Research Project

Project description:

For our capstone project, you will select a human infectious disease and research a few things about this disease. After, you will construct a portfolio that you will present to your peers with the following information:

Diagram and label a model of your chosen pathogen and describe functions of components and classification of the pathogen.
Create a timeline that explains the symptoms of your diseases from when the pathogen first enters a human till cure or death of the host.
Apply knowledge from text sources and a podcast to create a one-pager that focuses on how disease shaped history, culture, or society.

You will use a variety of resources for this project, including 1 print source, a podcast, and online resources.

Student Objectives and Instructions:
Standards, Ways to demonstrate proficiency, &
Suggested tools
more...less...
Key Terms: Disease, Pathology, Pathogen, Obligate pathogen, Opportunistic pathogen, Accidental pathogens, Epidemic, Outbreak, Pandemic, Pathogenicity, Virulence, Susceptibility, CDC, WHO, Emerging Diseases
Sign Up Sheet
List of Possible Human Infectious Diseases Sign Up (Periods 2nd, 3rd, & 4th)
Rubrics
Epidemiology Project Rubrics
Podcasts Human Infectious Diseases
Links to Podcasts for Human Infectious Diseases

ISU Milner Library Online Resources

Milner Library Article Search
Search for articles from various journals, magazines, newspapers and more. Note: Discovered materials may not be available through Milner Library.
more...less...
Key Terms: Disease, Pathology, Pathogen, Obligate pathogen, Opportunistic pathogen, Accidental pathogens, Epidemic, Outbreak, Pandemic, Pathogenicity, Virulence, Susceptibility, CDC, WHO, Emerging Diseases
ISU Health Science Libguide
This guide is starting point for all students majoring in or taking classes within the department of Health Sciences. This guide will help you with all aspects of your projects and research.

Health Sciences Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text database of nursing & allied health journals.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text database of consumer-focused health care information from medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles.
Health Source Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Full text database of consumer health information from magazines covering topics such as the medical sciences, food sciences, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health.
Includes sources published from 1984 to present
Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Full text medical database includes journal articles and patient education sheets for generic and brand medications.
Includes sources published from 1984 to present
Jstor This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full text database of core scholarly journals.
Power Search (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Check the UHigh Library webpage or ask a librarian for username/password.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citation database compiling scholarly research from all aspects of biomedicine such as biochemistry, molecular biology, bioengineering systems, biotechnology, cell and developmental biology, genetics, health informatics, human structure and function, immunology, microbiology, immunology, neuroscience, pathology, pharmacology, and physiology.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database covering scientific, technical, and medical research and includes sources from scholarly, peer-reviewed journals (several open access) and reference books.
Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Academic articles, videos, experiments, and more.
Check the UHigh Library webpage or ask a librarian for username/password.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly literature and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes unique search options like Cited Author and Cited Reference.
Includes some sources published from 1900 to present.
Milner's subscription includes:

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)
Book Citation Index Science (2005-present)
Book Citation Index Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present)
Conference Proceedings Citation Index Science (1993-present)
Conference Proceedings Citation Index Social Sciences & Humanities (1993-present)
Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present)
Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present)

ISU Ebook Resources

Ebook Resources
How to access ebooks and audiobooks through Iliinois State University, the UHigh Sora App, and local libraries.

Ebook Access Via Sora

Anatomy E-book Access
For e-book access login here with your student ID number (located on the back of your student ID card).
Epidemiology E-Book Curation
Login with Student ID number
Hoopla
Audiobook Available: Viruses, Plagues, & History / Epidemics and Society / Twelve Diseases / Beating Back the Devil / Bitten / Rabid
more...less...
Borrow eAudiobooks, eBooks from local public library (Normal, Bloomington, etc). Patrons can borrow 5-10 books a month depending on the library.